One moment...

Blogs / Professional Fellows Exchange Program / About the MUNICIPAL COUNCIL of SEBERANG PERAI (MPSP)


Nadia Faradila Jalawi, Malaysia

Organizing Grantee: ICMA

YSEALI Theme: Environmental Sustainability

Host: Village of Yellow Springs, OH


Seberang Perai, which was formerly known as Province Wellesley, is narrow hinterland located opposite of Penang Island. There are currently three Administrative Districts in Seberang Perai and all fall under the jurisdiction of the Municipal Council of Seberang Perai.

These three Administrative Districts are :

  1. Seberang Perai Utara (SPU) located in the north
  2. Seberang Perai Tengah (SPT) located in the middle
  3. Seberang Perai Selatan (SPS) located in the south

According to the 2010 National Cencus, seberang Perai is the second most populous local government area in Malaysia with a population of 815,767. The  whole of Seberang Perai covers an area of 738.40 sq. km.

The community of Seberang Perai is varied with people from different faith and diverse ethnic backgrounds.

             Municipal Council Of Seberang Perai Building    ydp    su

                   MPSP's Building                   Municipal President               Municipal Secretary


MPSP is run by a management body whose members consist of the President as the Chief Executive Officer and 24 Councilors who are all nominated by the State Government. The role of the Chief Executive Officer is to ensure that the decisions of MPSP are implemented and the day-to-day operations of the council are according to the corporate plan.

The organisational structure is made up of 15 functional departments and headed by the Council Secretary as the Chief Operating Officer. The role of the Chief Operating Officer is to assist the President to supervise and co-ordinate the daily operations of all the departments.

6 Council Commitees are established to enforce existing and also to make new policies.  The Council Commitees' members are appointed by the President. The committees meet monthly to analyze, discuss and approve papers presented by the various departments. The results of the meetings will then be presented to the Full Council (which consists of all 24 councillors) chaired by the President at the end of the month for final endorsement before implementation by the council.


All of you are most welcome to visit our website by finding it using this URL :