One moment...

Home / About / Innovation Awards

Innovation Awards

Applications for the 2018 J. Robert Havlick and Thomas H. Muehlenbeck Award Winners

Applications for the 2018 Innovation Awards will be accepted beginning in late fall of 2017.

An innovation is “the creative idea become realized”

The J. Robert Havlick Award for Innovation in Local Government was conceptualized by The Innovation Groups’ (now the Alliance for Innovation) Board of Directors to honor Bob Havlick, founder of IG who retired in 2003. One local government, its internal champion(s), and the innovation were acknowledged with the J. Robert Havlick Award for Innovation in Local Government. In addition, one local government and its program, initiative, project, etc. received the Thomas H. Muehlenbeck Award for Excellence in Local Government. Muehlenbeck served as the City Manager of Plano, TX for over 20 years and was The Innovation Groups Board of Directors’ Chair for 10 years.

Outstanding Achievement in Local Government Innovation will also be awarded.

Criteria for the Awards

The submission should demonstrate one or more of the following:

  • How it successfully addressed an important dilemma of public service delivery concerns.
  • How it has had a positive impact and tremendous benefit to the community or jurisdiction.
  • A quantum leap of creativity.
  • The government’s commitment and support of bringing the innovation to life.
  • Service delivery improvements and/or efficiencies.
  • Organizational improvement because of the innovation.
  • Tangible effectiveness and results.

Only Alliance for Innovation members are eligible to apply for an innovation award. Organizations are limited to two application submissions. The Award Selection Committee, made up of Alliance for Innovation Board of Directors, will review the applications and select the winners.

The Notification Process: 

All award applicants will be notified of the Committee’s decision via email by the end of March 2017. Those receiving awards will be announced and recognized throughout the 2017 Transforming Local Government Conference (Tulsa, OK, April 18-21, 2017). The Muehlenbeck and Havlick Award winners will receive one free registration to the conference.

The Application Process:

To apply for an Innovation Award click here to download and complete the application and return by February 17, 2017 to Ryan Spillers at Each Organization is limited to two application submissions. For more information please contact Ryan Spillers at


Congratulations to the 2017 Havlick/muehlenbeck award winners

The Alliance for Innovation is proud to honor the winners of the 2017 Annual Robert Havlick Award for Innovation in Local Government, the Thomas H. Muehlenbeck Award for Excellence in Local Government, and Outstanding Achievement in Innovation winners. These two prestigious awards are presented annually to further encourage innovation and recognize excellence in local government. Congratulations to our 2017 winners for their incredible work! 

Thomas H. Muehlenbeck Award for Excellence in Local Government:

Asset Evaluation Using Voice Activated Personal Assistant - City of Las Vegas, NV

J. Robert Havlick Award for Innovation in Local Government:

Launch Pad: Getting Good Ideas Off the Ground - Park District of Oak Park, IL

Congratulations as well to our Outstanding Achievement in Innovation winners:

Impact Adams: Next Level Development - Adams County, CO

Rain, Rain, Don't Go Away - Montgomery, OH

We're MAD! - Ontario, CA

PHXteens - Phoenix, AZ

Potranco Branch Library Project - San Antonio, TX

Virginia Beach Procurement Opportunity Committee - Virginia Beach, VA

All of the award winners were recognized at the 2017 TLG Conference in Tulsa, Oklahoma in April. A special thank you to all organizations for their submissions and for sharing their programs and services.

Previous award submissions may be found in the knowledge network.